In 1991, twelve senior training analysts in Los Angeles congregated to discuss their respective concerns about the state of contemporary psychoanalysis. In contrast to the climate of the time, they wanted to create an institute that would be self-regulated and not compelled to look to external figures for permission or approval to operate as it saw fit. Their objectives were simple, but also profound. They wanted the institute to remain freestanding, to function as a participatory democracy that actively involved both its members and its candidates in the shaping and evolution of the institute, and to be a place where the entire membership would be charged with assiduously defending the preservation of all psychoanalytic perspectives. In so doing, a key goal was to cultivate a system of open dialogue and pluralistic thought.

Out of their meetings the twelve founding mothers and fathers created the Institute of Contemporary Psychoanalysis.

Those twelve founders are: Louis Breger, Ph.D.. Doryann Lebe, M.D., Herb Linden, M.D., John Lindon, M.D., David Markel, M.D., Richard Rosenstein, M.D., Morton Shane, M.D., Estelle Shane, Ph.D. Robert Stolorow, Ph.D., Norman Tabachnick, M.D., Judith Vida, M.D., and Arnold Wilson, M.D.

Read the history by David Markel

Open Close